B&M goes Australian

Emma_australia

I think it’s allready a month since suzanne from Sewpony contacted me
asking if I was interested to participate a blog tour for her new pattern
“Dear prudence”.
She recently came across my blog and told me
she loves my style, my use of colours and photos.
I felt so honoured and couldn’t resist so I
send her an email back, saying I would participate.

Emma_Australia

After making the Ishi-dress,
I was concerned about picking the right fabric for this “dear prudence” dress.
It’s like now, I overthink my fabric choice more then ever.
I didn’t want to use a big print but the fabric needed to be spunky enough.
I ended up with a colourful fabric from Stenzo.
I bought this fabric thinking to use it for Noor but well, plans can change, right?

IMG_9736-Edit

“Dear prudence” is a very nice pattern with a lot of nice sewing techniques.
A new technique for me was shirring.
I love the effect but I was a bit frightened about the comments I found on shirring with a brother machine.
After trying several tips & tricks I am quite happy about my shirring skills! 

Emma_Australia

The instructions show a gathered skirt, something I already did for several times.
I wanted another challenge and added two pleats in front of the skirt.
You want to know a little secret?
I’ve never added pleats before because I don’t like to iron them  😉

Emma_Australia

The pattern includes several sleeve-options.
I choose the extended cape sleeve for this summer.
I used an old blue piping to accentuate the big pockets and the collar.
I didn’t add buttons to the collar yet, just because I didn’t find the right ones.
If I do, I’ll add them to give the dress the finishing touch.
The back features a row of elastic,
another effect that gives the dress a good fitted look. 

Emma_Australia

Are you convinced?
You can buy the pattern here.
During the blog tour (6 – 17 july) you get a 15% discount by using the code: PRUDENCE15.

IMG_9821-Edit

Suzanne, I am really happy you contacted me
and I hope we stay in touch with eachother!
X

Emma_Australia

Pattern: Dear prudence / Sewpony
Fabric: Stenzo
10 gedachtes over “B&M goes Australian

  1. What a beautiful Prudence. You did a great job with shirring. I think your fabric choices for this dress are lovely. To tell you the secret, about 1/3 of my sewing time is dedicated to choosing fabric and trims! Overthinking it? Maybe a little. But when the combo is perfect, it feels so nice to sew, right? I love the pleats instead of gathers (even though they can be a pain in the neck to iron hehe).

    Like

Geef een reactie

