A story about….Emma

Six years ago you were born at 06.55 in the morning.
Totally unexpected and too soon…
I was only in my 32nd week of my pregnancy.

Emma's birth

You did well, my little girl,  but not good enough.
That’s why the doctors decided to bring you to a universital hospital.
When we arrived there it took such a long time before we could see you again.
We were so scared when we saw you covered by a green surgery towel.
Daddy took me in his arms and started to cry.
It was the only time I saw your daddy cry.

Emma's brith

The doctors put a sign “minimal touch” on your bed.
We couldn’t touch you because you were too fragile.
In the beginning you needed medicins more then milk.

Emma's birth
Therefor Emma, I want to say sorry.
Sorry that I couldn’t keep you longer with me,
that I couldn’t overload you with cuddles and kisses.
Sorry that you had medicins for breakfast, lunch and dinner,
that I had to leave you every night all by yourself.
Sorry that I couldn’t keep you warm enough.
And sorry for blowing out all the candles I collected while you were in the hospital.
Because when you finally got home, your temperature was too low
and we had to bring you back to the hospital.
I felt so useless, like I couldn’t take care of you.
It felt like you & I weren’t meant to be.
You stopped breathing and we bagged to bring you back to the universital hospital.
There u stayed for another week in quarantaine.
Ever since that time I have mixed feelings about blowing a candle.
But today, my lovely Emma, you can blow!

Bontje

Bontje

Today you are a big and very clever girl.
You fight for every little thing you want to achieve.
You know what you want and no matter what you will go for it!

Bontje

Bontje

Bontje

I never planned writing about this memory but one day you’ll be curious
and after you’ll read this, our band can only get stronger.

Bontje

Bontje

Emma, you will always be my little fighter…

Bontje

Bontje

Fabric: Stoffencircus
Pattern: based on "Stof Voor Durf-het-zelvers 2"

16 gedachtes over “A story about….Emma

  1. you have a strong little fighter, but you’re as strong as she is. For a mom it must be the hardest time. i’m sure your bond must be very strong. i’m sure if she’s going to read this text once, she can feel the love!

    Like

  2. what a hard birth story… i just would like to add that it wasn’t your fault, so there’s no need to feel bad… life doesnt always work as we would like it to be, but luckily, there’s your little girl to show you she’s strenght!

    Like

  3. Zo herkenbaar… Ik heb mijn meisjes ook niet direct kunnen aanraken. Lichamelijk maar ook emotioneel ging het even niet. Pas na een weekje kon ze vasthouden. Dat vergeet je jammer genoeg nooit…

    Like

  4. Oh, ik krijg kippenvel… Ik kon ook niet bij mijn dochtertje zijn in het begin, maar dan omwille van mezelf. Ookal weet ik dat ik deed wat ik kon, ik voel me nog altijd soms schuldig dat ze de eerste twee weken van haar leven zonder mij moest doorbrengen, maar we haalden de mama-dochter tijd ondertussen ruim in… ik denk dat jullie dat ook al deden 😉 Een echte jongedame is het al, je knappe dochter!

    Like

Geef een reactie

